• Print
  • Email

Renew Your Tags Online!

traffic

" Customers need to renew in their own county", (as statute requires T.C.A. 55-4-105e)

New Vehicle: Purchaser needs to have in their posession (MSO) Manufacturer Statement Origin, completed by dealer and purchaser. Also, need bill of sale stating tax collected and lien holder (if any). If vehicle is purchased out of state and sales tax is lower than TN, then the difference will be collected at time of registration.

Used: Purchaser should have title in their possession with the buyer and seller's signature. Odometer is required for vehicles ten years or newer. Tax will be collected at time of registration unless dealer collected tax. Selling price of vehicle has to be 75% of book value. Low selling price will delay process of issuing title. Form SF1301201 can be used for low selling price of gift. Do not purchase vehicle if seller's signature does not match the name on the front of the title. If lien appears on front of title, make sure it has been relased before purchase. If lien needs to be noted on either new or used, make sure full name and address is properly noted.

Moving to Tennessee: Owner needs title from previous state, or if still paying on vehicle, we need current registration and full name and address of lien holder. Cost of transferring out of state title and to obtain plate and registration is $36.50.

Replacement of Lost Tennessee Title: Tennessee title is the only title that may be replaced. No out of state titles. To obtain a replacement title, SF0968 has to be completed and signed by registered owner. If owner chooses, he/she can choose to complete SF0968 (POA), which enables someone other than registered owner to obtain replacement title. Replacement title: $11.00.

Noting of Lien: Must be Tennessee title. In order to note lien, form SF0943 has to be completed and signed by registered owner. Must have TN title and a security agreement between the lender and borrower. Noting of lien: $11.00

Multiple Owners: Only one signaure is required on title if registered to two or more and is joined by "OR". If joined by "AND", both signaures are required.

Selling of Vehicle: Registered owner of vehicle signs his/her name as signature of seller. Individual obtaining ownership of vehicle signs their name as buyer with complete address. Seller should never sign off of title without completing buyer potion; this is known as an open title. This could result into penalties to seller.

Handicap: Handicap individual must have form SF0953 completed by physician to obtain plates or placard. If purhcasing plate, individual has to be a registered handicap person. Handicap license plates: $24.00. If permanently confined to wheel chair, license plate is free. If handicap individual obtains plates, the placard is free. If no plate is purchased, placard is $21.50, renewable every two years for $3.

Procedures for issuing Disabled Placards

  • If I have a vehicle registered in my name and I have the Doctor complete the application for a Disabled Placard, can I have a free placard?   Yes
  • Must I have the Disabled License plate to get a free placard?  No, but you must have a vehicle registered in your name
  • How many placards can I have? You may only have 2 placards
  • Can I have the second placard free?  Yes, as long as there is a second vehicle registered to the disabled person or in the name of an immediate family member that the disabled person resides with.
  • Can a disabled minor child qualifies for a free placard?  Yes

Renewals: The price for regular plates is $24/year. The price for regular personalized or cultural plates is $59/year. The price for personalized cultural or specialty plates is $94/year.

Click here for specialty plate information

 

donateOrgan donation gives life with others.  Your name on the Donate Life Tennessee Organ and Tissue Donor Registry you can help keep families together. Learn more >>

TWRAState hunting and fishing licenses are sold in the Clerk's Office. Visit the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency website or call us at 865.457.6226.

mitzitagsThe State of Tennessee offers more than 90 specialty license plates for Tennessee motorists to display on their registered motor vehicles. Learn More>

Copyright © 2017. Jeff Cole, Anderson County TN Clerk. Designed by Liberty Website Designs Liberty Webs